2022 Taxi Art Contest Winners

Congratulations to all the students who participated in this year’s competition and a special recognition to the following first place winning schools and student artists. (Click here to see the six runners-up winners.)

Dominique Miller – Academy of Arts, Careers & Technology High School

Cooper Sandoval – Mount Rose K-8 School (kindergarten through 8th grade) 

Zariah Frantz – Anderson Elementary School

View the Press Release
Inline image showing a reno taxi
inline image showing a Reno Taxi with a new design
inline image showing a reno taxi with a new design and the winner of the design receiving a prize
See All The Event Photos


Use the hashtag #designataxitop

Please help us capture this year's contest

Share your experiences and your art peices with everyone by using the hastag #designataxitop

2022 Taxi Top Design Contest

The EDAWN Foundation and Washoe County School District K-12 schools partner for the seventh year in the Taxi-Top Design Contest. This year, nine $500 checks will be awarded to three finalists in each category: Elementary, Middle, and High School. In addition, the first-place winner in each category will have their designs displayed on local taxis for a year!

Artwork Theme: Northern Nevada Is a Great Place to Live

Every year more than 4 million visitors come to the Reno-Sparks region for vacation, business, family fun, and much more. With so much to see and do here, we want everyone to know why Northern Nevada is a great place to live. The students use their creativity and imagination to illustrate this theme in their own artwork and we are excited to see this year’s new taxi top design entries.

Download the 2022 Contest Guidelines

About the Foundation and Initiatives

The EDAWN Foundation is a private, non-profit 501c3, founded by the EDAWN Board. It’s purpose is to create awareness and educate visitors, businesses travelers and the community about our region’s economic development, business growth opportunities,  and the quality of life in Greater Reno-Sparks. Since its inception in 2013, the Foundation has focused its efforts on initiatives that enhance our image as a family-friendly community.

EDAWN Foundation Board Members:

  • Mike Kazmierski
  • Rae McElroy
  • Annie Zucker
  • Debra Moddelmog
  • Francine Burge
  • Margaret Friedrichs
  • Megan Downs
  • Nancy Fennell
  • Richard Jay